SASTRA to Encourage Young Mathematicians


“Srinivasa Ramanujan has remained and will continue to remain a source of inspiration for researchers all over the world” said Dr. R. Kannan, I.A.S., Principal Secretary of Higher Education, Government of Tamilnadu. Inaugurating the 125th Birthday Celebrations of  Srinivasa Ramanujan at SASTRA University in Kumbakonam on December 22, 2011, Dr. R. Kannan handed over the SASTRA-Ramanujan Award for the year 2011 to Prof.Roman Holowinsky of the Ohio State University, U.S.A. This award carries a cash prize of USD 10,000 and a citation. He complimented SASTRA’s efforts in propagating the works of Srinivasa Ramanujan and encouraged the youth to draw inspiration from the works of Ramanujan. He also interacted with various foreign speakers participating in the international conference on “number theory, ergodic theory and dynamics”

SASTRA University has announced on the occasion of the 125th Srinivasa Ramanujan Birthday Celebrations, schemes to encourage researchers and young students to embark on a career in Mathematics. The SASTRA-Ramanujan Research Scholarship is awarded to 10 post-graduates to pursue Ph.D. in the any area influenced by Ramanujan. The Ph.D. scholar will be awarded a monthly stipend from Rs.12,000 to Rs.16,000 for four years. Scholars will be selected based on a competitive process. The University is also planning to conduct special lecture talks throughout the year inviting eminent researchers from all over the country as part of the SASTRA-Ramanujan Lecture Series. The SASTRA-Ramanujan Quiz Whiz carries a cash award of Rs.1,00,000 for the team that wins the National Level Quiz on Ramanujan & Mathematics. This quiz competition is open for all school students in the age group between 10 & 18. Top 6 teams selected from the various regional prelims will be invited to the Srinivasa Ramanujan Centre in Kumbakonam for the grand finale to be held during the Valedictory function of the 125th year celebrations to be held during December 2012. All these schemes are in addition to the existing SASTRA-Ramanujan Award instituted in the year 2005. Prof.R.Sethuraman, Vice-Chancellor presided over the function. Prof. Krishnaswami Alladi of University of Forida read the Award Citation as the Chairman of the Awards Committee.