Union S&T Minister Encourages SASTRA researchers


Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Union Minister of Science & Technology, Government of India visited the research facilities at SASTRA University on Feb 26, 2017. Taking a brief tour of the Rs.75 Crores SASTRA Hub for Research & Innovation, Dr.Harsh Vardhan interacted with researchers & students working on the development of nanosensors, nanofluids, surface coatings, 3D bioprinting and characterization facilities. He commended the research efforts and encouraged them to continue their efforts towards realizing the ‘Make in India’ goal.


In recognition of extraordinary contribution of eminent scientists to different facets of Science in addition to the SASTRA-Ramanujan Award for Maths, SASTRA has instituted the SASTRA-C.N.R. Rao award for Chemistry & Materials Science, SASTRA-G.N. Ramachandran award for Physics and SASTRA-Obaid Siddiqi award for life sciences. Each award winner receives a citation and a cash award of Rs 5 lakh. On the National Science Day on Feb 28, 2017, the SASTRA-C.N.R. Rao Award was presented to Prof. Baldev Raj, Director, National Institute of Advanced Sciences, Bangalore and Prof. S. Chandrasekhar, Director, Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad. The awards were presented to the winners by Prof. R. Sethuraman, Vice-Chancellor, SASTRA University on 28th February, 2017. Prof. Baldev Raj in his acceptance speech lauded SASTRA’s efforts to promote scientific temper and women empowerment. He also later delivered a talk on Advanced materials and manufacturing where he highlighted the advances made in nuclear reactor technology. Prof. Chandrasekhar in his acceptance speech appreciated the world-class research infrastructure established at SASTRA. In his talk on Molecules with celebrity status, he highlighted the important therapeutic molecules synthesized by his group and also stated that ‘Scientists are eternal’. The award function was held during the two-day International conference on Frontiers in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (ICFNN), 2017 that had 11 speakers from different parts of the globe delivering lectures on different aspects of nanoscience and engineering. About 170 participants from various institutions participated in the Conference.  The Obaid-Siddiqi Award winner is Prof. Leslie Griffith from Brandeis University, USA and the GN Ramachandran Award winner is Prof,N.Kumar of the Raman Research Institute, Bangalore.